Slinger's Thoughts

October 11, 2010

Houston Tech Fest and me on Twitter

Filed under: SharePoint — slingeronline @ 8:39 am

Attended the Houston Tech Fest this past Saturday, and I’ve realized a few things. I need to update my blog a lot more often. (I don’t tend to run into the issues that I used to that no one had a solution for, so I’m not digging as much as I used to.) I really should get a presentation together about digging through the xoml of SharePoint Designer workflows. And I really need to have a better presence online. To that end, I have decided that I need to find some inspiration. I did have some projects that I was working on, on the side, but trying to turn myself into a developer can wait.

For my first trick, I plan on being much more involved with Twitter, and learning how to use it properly.  Especially since my first follower on Twitter is none other than the SharePointNinja, Michael Doyle. (That’s a challenge to live up to, you know?) So, upper right hand corner here, there’s me on Twitter. Feel free to follow me, and I will try to keep it interesting, as soon as I figure out how to get it working with my phone.

Next, I hope to attempt to be a speaker at an event at some point in the future.  I think my first presentation will be digging through those xoml files to find the stuff where it seems that Microsoft fell short, and some solutions on Codeplex overshot. (Maybe I can hit the bullseye?)  We’ll see where it goes from there. I may even install DWG TrueView and AutoCAD again and try to find the absolute solution to that stupid DWGViewrCtrl.dll issue that has plagued so many of you, and got this blog off of the ground to begin with.  Yes I still despise Autodesk, but I respect their place in the engineering community, and once they get the hint that SharePoint is not going to be replaced by BuzzSaw, maybe they will fix that stupid ActiveX control. If you have any ideas for a presentation for my limited experience to work on, bring it!

And lastly, I have not forgotten about this blog, I need to keep it much more up to date. I don’t want to rehash what other bloggers have already stated. How many times do you need to find out that the latest Cumulative update was released? I mean really now. If I rehash something that someone else has already blogged about, then you might as well follow that individual’s blog instead of mine. I’m sure you already follow at least about 40 blogs anyways, like I do. I don’t want to add clutter to your RSS feeds. I promise I will try and be better.

And lastly, following Tiffany Songvilay’s advice, I’m putting a profile up here so that you know a little more about me, and I’m not just some mysterious, nefarious SharePoint guy with mediocre advice.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

