Slinger's Thoughts

June 3, 2008

Autodesk, SharePoint, and the uselessness of Autodesk

Filed under: SharePoint — slingeronline @ 1:10 pm

I know it has been a while since I posted, and I apologize.  My duties at my job have expanded to cover more than just our MOSS implementation.  I’m sure you don’t need me to tell you how to set up a centralized network print server.  Well after hitting Autodesk’s discussion boards pretty hard, I was told that I had an opportunity to voice my concerns on the “my feedback” page while the product was still in beta. 

No I didn’t.  I was told to wait and that hopefully all of the issues with DWG TrueView and Internet Explorer would be sovled with the release of 2009.  They weren’t.  Now it was up to me to concoct a solution that at least our internal users could have and to give as an option to our external users.  Well a direct registry file wouldn’t cut it.  Our client’s and Vendor’s IT departments would want my head on a platter.  Thanks to some help from Swami-on-Rye, (you can see his comments in this post.) I had a solution that might pass muster.  I could wrap the registry edits into a .inf file.  Well, I figured out what registry edits are necessary for each version of True View, ’07, ’08 and ’09, and applied each one in an .inf file.  Then I had to test, to make sure that none of those registry edits would affect a different version.  I had to know that the fix for TrueView 2009 wouldn’t break TrueView 2007.  So I installed each version individually, and tested the Internet Explorer behavior, then uninstalled and retested.  Then installed the next version and so on.  I am happy to report that it created no issues for me personally.  Still it wouldn’t be a bad idea to have a way to uninstall these registry edits on the chance that one of your users does develop a case of computer hiccups should something not go quite right.  I did break up each section of the .inf file so that I could explain what fix applied to what version.  This will make it easier to track down a culprit if something does go wrong.  Create a new file in your favorite text editor, and add the following code. (please note that wordpress likes reformatting, so make sure that each registry entry is on it’s own line.)

[Version]
Signature = “$Windows NT$”

[DefaultInstall]
AddReg = addreg07,addreg08,addreg09
DelReg = delreg07,delreg08,delreg09
;Fix DWGTrueView2007 template issue

[addreg07]
HKCU,”Software\Classes\.dwg”,,0x00000,”DWGTrueView.Drawing.16″
HKCU,”Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\FileExts\.dwg”,”Progid”,0x00000,
“DWGTrueView.Drawing.17″

[delreg07]
HKCU,”Software\Classes\.dwg”

;Fix DWGTrueView2008 browser issue

[addreg08]
HKCR,”CLSID\{6C7DC044-FB1E-4140-9223-052E5ABE7D24}\EnableFullPage\.dwg-disabled”,,0x00000,

[delreg08]
HKCR,”CLSID\{6C7DC044-FBIE-4140-9223-052E5ABE7D24}\EnableFullPage\.dwg”

;Fix DWGTrueView2009 template issue

[addreg09]
HKCU,”Software\Classes\.dwg”,,0000000,”DWGTrueView.Drawing.16″
HKCU,”Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\FileExts\.dwg\OpenWithProgids”,
“DWGTrueView.16″,0x20001,

[delreg09]
HKCU,”Software\Classes\.dwg”
HKCU,”Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\FileExts\.dwg”,DWGTrueView.17

[Strings]

After you add the code, save the file.  I named mine, appropriately enough, TrueViewFix.inf.  Make sure that it has an .inf extension.  Once you do that, then all you need to do is right click on the file and click “Install.”  And that should fix it.  Now when you click on a DWG file type in Internet Explorer, it should ask you what program you would like to open the file with.  You can select AutoCAD instead of DWGTrueView, or you could even choose DWGTrueView.  The .inf file we just created removed the settings that were placed when you installed DWG True View and now you can create the correct ones.  Since this is an .inf file, we are going to issue a global update to all of the machines that we own to install this update.  We will also offer it on our SharePoint site for our external user base.  Hopefully this helps.  Many thanks to Swami for his input.  He got me on the right track.

1 Comment »

  1. Do you have a string of code that will allow CAD users to upload their drawings directly into SharePoint?

    Comment by Jon Cotey — April 20, 2009 @ 1:38 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

