Slinger's Thoughts

March 25, 2008

I’ve not forgotten about Autodesk.

Filed under: SharePoint — Tags: , — slingeronline @ 11:17 am

For those that were following my plight with SharePoint and Autodesk’s AutoCAD, know that I have not given up.  I am still researching a solution to the problem of Autodesk being dicks and not believing that their software is the culprit.  Unfortunately I am no nearer an answer today than I have been previously.  The answer from Autodesk is still, “Wait for TrueView 2009.” 

I don’t know if I mentioned it before or not, but I have even gone so far as to “borrow” an AutoCAD file from work and upload to my Comcast.net homepage.  Same results there, and that proved my theory that it was not SharePoint, or MS-SQL as Autodesk would have you believe.  I pointed this out on their forums, trying to find an answer and that’s when I got the fairly generic response I mentioned above.  So instead of solving the problem, which I have proven beyond the shadow of a doubt that their software is responsible for, they want us to wait and see if the new version fixes it.  I did have a brief revelation earlier today and thought I might have a way.  My thought was this; In the various views of the document library, you can see the name of the file, and you can set various views.  “Name (Linked to Item)”, “Name (Linked to Item with edit menu)”, etc.  While I was out it the parking lot I seemed to recall a “with edit menu” option that was not “Linked to Item.”  I was wrong, there is no such option.  I was hoping to take away the ability for someone to simply click on the file name and have the file open, and force them to use the edit menu, so that they could select “Open with,” and I can easily make an option for them to open the file.  Still no solution to this problem.  On a side note, I’m also seeing how DWG TrueView tries to inflict itself on other aspects of our computers as well.  I just installed Microsoft Solomon SL on the computers in our training room, and for every install, DWG TrueView would be “configured.”  I have no idea why, as SL is simply a database managed financial program.  If TrueView does too much more like that we may be able to consider it a virus, or malware at the least.  Autodesk needs to seriously take a look at what is causing all the problems, because I can assure that if I am having these problems, then chances are a host of other companies and individuals are as well.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

